Edge of Excess (nolifetilmetal.com)

Triumph Rocks Album Reviews

Triumph – Edge of Excess (Virgin) 1993


Picked this one up used and despite the fact that I had never heard it, thought I’d give it a shot. I mean, how bad could it be right? Well, I was oblivious to the fact that Rick Emmett did not play on this disc. That right there had me a bit skeptical before I even popped the disc into my CD player. To me Emmett gave Triumph their charm and charisma with his rafter rocking vocals and neo-classical guitar work. Drummer Gil Moore and bassist Mike Levine were obviously a big part of the band as well, but Triumph without Emmett is like Aerosmith without Steven Tyler, Led Zeppelin without Jimmy Page. It’s just not the same band. So, while “Edge of Excess” doesn’t really sound like Triumph, it’s also not a bad arena rock album. “Child of the City”, “Black Sheep” and “Trouble Maker” are all actually pretty solid rockers. (“Trouble Maker” was also featured in the Hellraiser III soundtrack.) So, despite missing a vital part of the formula, “Edge of Success” is actually pretty successful.

1. “Child Of The City” (5:04)
2. “Troublemaker” (4:06)
3. “It’s Over” (4:21)
4. “Edge Of Excess” (4:44)
5. “Turn My Back On Love” (4:06)
6. “Ridin High Again” (4:55)
7. “Black Sheep” (5:25)
8. “Boy’s Night Out” (5:19)
9. “Somewhere Tonight” (4:34)
10. “Love In A Minute” (4:45)


Sign Up For Our Newsletter

* indicates required